Project Bean

We’re having a baby!

We heard the heartbeat for the first time on Friday. What a strange, exhilarating experience. I don’t think I properly believed in it before then, all signs to the contrary. We’d been calling our new addition “bean” until then, but it doesn’t seem appropriate now we’ve been introduced more concretely.

It hardly seems necessary to say, but we’re overjoyed. We’ve wanted kids for so long that the idea of our own baby was almost mythical in nature. Not anymore (as much)!

I’m going to have plenty to say about pregnancy, babies, experimental techniques on raising children, and much more, but for now, here are some possible names we’ve been kicking around. (By the way, we do plan on finding out what sex the baby is, that’ll be in about 8 weeks, and I’ll let you know.)

If it’s a boy:

Thor Danger
Stewart Turkeylink
Gaspar Loam
Dwayne Carbuncle
Blip Tang
Seamus Stink
Robinson Stickleback
Turdburglar
Geoffrey Stalkinghorse
pLug
Lefty “Bookend”
Stevan Stephen Stephan Steven

If it’s a girl:

Prudence “Garry”
April Carnage
Tiffany Dustbuster
Disco Betty
Flannery Pajamas
Butterfly Hopkins
Killer
Burps Toast
Jane Tomorrow
Hypatia Iphigenia
Charity Maleficent
Ursula Pickle

Boy or girl: we don’t much care which it is. We’re so thankful for this blessing!

~ by themeansister on May 12, 2010.

15 Responses to “Project Bean”

  1. YYYYYAAAAYYY!

  2. Congratulations!!!! How very, very cool.

  3. ALSO! I found a new baby name for you.

    Bad Axe.

    It’s the name of a town in Michigan. Most definitely a girl’s name.

  4. Congratulations!!!! That is so exciting 🙂

    I decided early on that if people hassled me too much about knowing the baby’s name, I’d tell them it was Sunshine Supernova. Unfortunately, that hasn’t happened yet.

  5. ::screaming:: yyyyaaaaaaaaahhhhoooo!!!!!!! Congrats!!!! You’re going to be such a fantastic mommy!!!

  6. Congrats to you both! I’m very happy for you. I’m about 12 ish weeks as well! Here’s to being pregnant.

  7. Dearest Zoe,

    I am so happy to hear the good news. Hopefully, the germ will spread across the miles toward Bethany. Waiting to be a grandmother is agonizing! I love the list of names, if we are voting, I place mine with Hypatia Iphigenia for a girl. Girl’s are best as you know. I just thought it would be fun to have a baby named “hypie.”

  8. Hey, excellent. Good luck w/ Project Bean – if it’s a boy, I suggest Tiberius as the name. Most bad-ass name ever.

  9. You all are wonderful people.

    Heather – congratulations! That’s so awesome. I hope you’re feeling better than I am right now…yuck, first trimester.

    Bethany, you are cracking me up.

    Amanda – I am not looking forward to all the usual baby questions being asked over and over again (especially by strangers!), but I think sarcasm will be my best friend in those situations. Also bald-faced lies. “How far along am I? Oh, this is a tumor.”

    Bad Axe is a good name, CS, but I’m afraid E and I both agree with Metzger that Tiberius is the most bad-ass name ever. TIBERIUS! Maybe Tiberius Bad Axe.

    Mrs. Boyd – I’m going to be lucky enough to see your lovely daughter this summer, I think, and I’ll do my best to rub off on her. HA HA! She’s a bit strong-willed, that one. I think you raised her right. 🙂

  10. Congrats, kids! Hope the morning sickness doesn’t stick around much longer…

  11. I waited for MONTHS for some complete stranger to ask how far along I was so I could get all offended and ask what they were talking about, but then when it finally happened the lady was so nice about it I just didn’t have the heart. So please live up to your nickname and live my unfulfilled dream!

  12. Zelda Pinwheel.

  13. I will do my best, Amanda!

  14. […] drive in downtown Philly traffic that I DON’T want to talk about) while catching up with my pregnant friend. We chatted and chatted, snacked all day, and when we eventually (after many hours) ran out of […]

  15. Oh, Zoe, I just heard! I’m so excited for you! I hope someday s/he finds a good friend down the street and that they spend many, many nice summer days inside reading all afternoon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
