Happy Thanksgiving to all, and to all, a good night

Okay, technically, it isn’t Thanksgiving Day here any more, it’s just really early Friday morning. But since you all are still chowing down on your turkey or finishing that piece of pecan pie THAT YOU SHOULD BE SAVING FOR ME, I’ll pretend it’s still a holiday.

Our T-day was going to be a half-baked celebration since we’re going to Amsterdam Saturday to celebrate it properly with some really cool family friends. This evening, we were just going to settle for cranberry sauce, mini potatoes, green beans, and hell, I don’t know, Varkenschnitzel or something. Instead, we were invited to join our housemates for grilled meat and football (the real football, not that gorilla moshpit nonsense that passes for football back home). Lekker!

nederland-0012

The Amstel and Witte Trappist flowed bountifully, the conversation was witty and intelligent, and the women were charming.  Or at the very least, less cranky than usual.

nederland-004

Remco is something of a cigar connoisseur; that is, I assume anyone who owns his own humidor qualifies for that category. He’d been wanting to smoke Cubans with us ever since we mentioned they’re illegal in the States. These were from Nicaragua, though, so it doesn’t really count.

nederland-0061

Yes. Very hot, indeed. You might even say that they’re smokin’.

HA. HA.

nederland-007

nederland-008

I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never cared for cigars. It hurts my non-girly street cred to no end. I tried to cultivate a liking for cigars, dark beers, and red wines, but so far only the red wines have stuck. I’m so ashamed. Please don’t love me any less.

Anyway, I wanted to fit in with the cool kids.

nederland-009

But was ultimately defeated and hacked up both lungs, my spleen, and a quarter of my gallbladder. I’m not laughing here, I’m coughing, in case that wasn’t clear.

nederland-010

Shortly thereafter, Ajax was neck and neck with HSV (a German team), the whiskey had been poured, and the smoke still lingered in the air. I slipped out to an internet cafe to talk to my darling family. Hi again to my dear M and D, A, E, N, S, S, and A! Or MDAENSSA, which sounds like some kind of IKEA furniture. It was lovely, and I can’t wait to see (some of) you next week!

When I returned, this shocking sight met my eyes.

nederland-012

Clean frickin’ dishes. Woo-hoo.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

~ by themeansister on November 28, 2008.

One Response to “Happy Thanksgiving to all, and to all, a good night”

  1. Aw, it looks like a lovely, if unconventional, Thanksgiving! Let’s hear it for the Wood girls (both previous and present) for celebrating Thanksgiving in Europe! I miss you and CAAAAN’T (but must) wait to see you!

Leave a comment